No. 7 — Land of Lincoln

No. 8 | No. 9 | No. 10 | Nos. 11-51

The winner of the first NCAA 880-yard run championship — Earl Eby — was an Ivy Leaguer out of Chicago’s Calumet High. But by the time Eby won that 1921 title, he had already served in World War I and won a silver medal in the Olympic Games. HepsTrack is fond of Eby because he became a track-and-field journalist for the Philadelphia Bulletin, reporting on the Penn Relays for more than three decades. But now we speed up to the 21st century.

In 2010 Illinois fared very well at the Heps Championships. Seniors Kathryn Gevitz of Penn and Dani Grunloh of Brown each won their specialty event — the triple jump and the shot put — at both the indoor and outdoor championships, while Princeton newcomer Peter Callahan was victorious in the indoor 800. At the Heps Cross Country Champs this fall, Harvard’s Dan Chenoweth was again a first-team All-Ivy performer as was Brown first-year Margaret Connelly.

Getting to know Illinois a bit more:

Illinois is the third top 10 state to have officially designated the square dance as the state’s official dance, joining Washington and Texas. Given that lack of originality, HepsTrack would like to see Illinoisans lobby to change the state’s official dance to krumping, as that would liven up election night parties. But if that wasn’t enough to consider, Illinois’ state nickname — if Abe Lincoln’s family didn’t move there in 1830 fearing milk sickness — would be the Sucker State. Ouch.

The 35 Ivies from Illinois:

Barrington (Barrington) — Kevin Crowley (Dartmouth ’13)
Barrington (Barrington) — Molly Glantz (Cornell ’12)
Chicago (Fenwick) — Margaret Connelly (Brown ’14)
Chicago (Loyola Academy) — Nico Composto (Columbia ’14)
Clarendon Hills (Hinsdale Central) — Elaine Kuckertz (Brown ’14)
Deerfield (Deerfield) — Scott Friedlander (Brown ’12)
Downers Grove (Downers Grove) — Shane Molidor (Princeton ’14)
Downers Grove (Downers Grove North) — Ellen McCammon (Harvard ’14)
Evanston (Loyola Academy) — Tom Robbins (Dartmouth ’11)
Evanston (North Shore Country Day) — Peter Callahan (Princeton ’13)
Galesburg (Galesburg) — Shannon Stacey (Brown ’12)
Geneseo (Geneseo) — Daniel Chenoweth (Harvard ’11)
Geneva (Geneva Community) — Alexandra Pace (Harvard ’14)
Glen Ellyn (Glenbard South) — Libby O’Brien (Cornell ’13)
Glen Ellyn (Glenbard West) — Sarah Udelhofen (Cornell ’14)
Glenview (Glenbrook South) — Joe Tracy (Dartmouth ’12)
Hinsdale (Hinsdale Central) — Chelsea Celistan (Harvard ’14)
Hinsdale (Hinsdale Central) — Stephanie Green (Penn ’14)
Hinsdale (Hinsdale Central) — Graylin Harrison (Dartmouth ’14)
Hinsdale (Hinsdale Central) — Laura Zumbach (Princeton ’13)
Homer Glen (Providence Catholic) — Eileen Moran (Princeton ’12)
Indian Head Park (Lyons) — Matthew Polega (Harvard ’13)
Inverness (Loyola Academy) — Dylan Remick (Brown ’13)
Lake Bluff (Lake Forest) — Austin Goldberg (Dartmouth ’13)
Lake Forest (Lake Forest) — Sam Howard (Brown ’14)
Mount Prospect (Prospect) — Beata Fiszer (Yale ’14)
Mount Prospect (Rolling Meadows) — Christian Escareno (Brown ’11)
Naperville (Benet Academy) — Kristin Sellers (Cornell ’11)
Oak Brook (Hinsdale Central) — Adabelle Ekechukwu (Harvard ’14)
Quincy (Quincy Senior) — Nathan Elder (Brown ’13)
St. Charles (Burlington Central) — Dan Hagberg (Cornell ’12)
St. Charles (St. Charles North) — Matt De Silva (Cornell ’11)
Skokie (Loyola Academy) — Kristina Black (Dartmouth ’12)
Tinley Park (Victor J Andrew) — Kailyn Kuzmuk (Harvard ’12)
Winfield (Community) — James Foreman (Penn ’11)

Comments are closed.