Indoor Region Winners 2012

The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Monday the region award winners for the 2012 NCAA Division I Indoor Track and Field season.  The winners were voted by the region-specific coaches and were based on individual performances and team results within their conference championship meets.

Within the Northeast region, Columbia’s head coach Willy Wood was honored as the women’s region coach of the year while Cornell’s Nathan Taylor was honored as the men’s region coach of the year.  Coach Taylor has previously earned this distinction six times for the outdoor season.  This is Coach Wood’s first distinction as an Ivy League coach.

Within the Mid-Atlantic region, Princeton swept the region men’s head coach and assistant coaches of year with Fred Samara and Steve Dolan.  Both coaches were honored with these distinctions during both the 2011 Indoor and Outdoor seasons.  Coach Samara has also previously earned this distinction four other times during both the indoor and outdoor seasons.  Princeton’s Conor McCullough’s short weight throw season resulted in McCullough being named the region men’s field athlete of the year.

UPDATE: Conor McCullough is now listed as an “also receiving mention” category for the Bowerman Trophy Watch List.  The Bowerman trophy is the track and field/cross country equivalent of the football Heisman Trophy by recognizing the best male and female athletes of the sport.  The Bowerman Trophy was first awarded in 2009 and is named after the legendary Oregon track coach Bill Bowerman.  McCullough is the first Ivy Leaguer to be included on this watch list.  The trophy will be awarded after the completion of the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field season.

Comments are closed.