Pappas, Hartung Advance To Final

Results & Start Lists — Multi-events | Wednesday | Thursday | Friday | Saturday

Mike Scott Wednesday Photos — 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5

Alexi Pappas, one of two distance stars running for the Big Green at the NCAA Championships, and Cornell’s Genna Hartung have advanced to the national finals of the steeplechase. Pappas earned an automatic qualifier from her heat, finishing fourth in 10:00.38 as the top five automatically earned a spot in the championship. Hartung held on for the final at-large spot, finishing in 10:12.61.

Earlier in the day, Cornell’s Nick Huber amassed 4,065 points on day one of the decathlon to place third heading into Thursday.

So far tonight, Harry McFann of Columbia and Michael Levine of Yale did not advance in their respective events. McFann was forced to go to the infield to avoid a fallen runner and wound up with a time of 1:50.91 in a super-competitive 800m field while Levine was stymied by fouls in the discus throw.

The final Heps’ competitor of the night was Brian Leung of Princeton, who ended up 16th in the 10,000-meter run. His official time was 29:58.45. Special thanks to Damon McLean, who will be triple jumping at the Championships, for live-tweeting the 10k for us tonight!

On a broader scale, tonight was as much about what didn’t advance as it was about what did at the NCAA Championships. Take a look as six of the first nine prelims resulted in the fastest non-advancing time in history!

39.45 — Mississippi State
44.01 — Auburn — was 44.06 by TCU, 2011

10.09 — Isiah Young (Mississippi) — was 10.20 by Andrew Smith (TCU, 1985) & Michael Bennett (Wisconsin, 2000)
11.33 — Ashley Collier (Texas A&M)

45.28 — Errol Nolan (Houston) — was 45.42 by Reggie Witherspoon (Florida, 2005)
52.40 — Brianna Frazier (North Florida)

1:46.62 — David Pachuta (Minnesota) — was 1:46.93 by Jim Jeffrey (TCU, 1981)
2:03.54 — Justine Fredonic (Stanford) — was 2:03.78 by Chris Crowther (Florida, 1986)

10:13.48 — Ruth Senior (New Mexico) — was 10:15.90 by Lauren Gregory (Georgetown, 2010)

Comments are closed.