D’Agostino Takes Second

Women’s Results | Men’s Results

Dartmouth junior Abbey D’Agostino just missed a national cross country title, but her former teammate — Oregon’s Alexi Pappas — didn’t.

D’Agostino — last year’s NCAA Outdoor 5k champion — finished second individually at the NCAA Championships in Louisville, Ky., on Saturday. Finishing the 6k run in 19:28.6, D’Ag — who was less than a second behind victorious Iowa State senior Betsy Saina — passed Oregon star Jordan Hasay at the finish.

But it was the Ducks — led by Hasay and Pappas (eighth in 19:43.9) — who claimed the team title in a rout, 114-183 over Providence. It is the second year in a row that an Ivy grad has been on the team champion as former Harvard standout Claire Richardson ran for the victorious Georgetown Hoyas last year.

Cornell, the top Heps team in 13th, was led by Rachel Sorna’s 34th-place finish (20:12.0), two places ahead of teammate Katie Kellner. Harvard finished 31st with Viviana Hanley, in 118th, being the first Crimson runner to cross.

On the men’s side, the Princeton Tigers had the highest finish in school history, taking 11th in the 31-team field. The first two Heps’ runners across the line were both wearing Orange & Black — Chris Bendtsen in 30:07.6 (43rd) and Alejandro Arroyo Yamin in 30:24.4 (58th). The Columbia Lions, led by Mark Feigen (61st) and Jake Sienko (74th) were 17th overall.

The men’s team champion was Oklahoma State over Wisconsin and Colorado while Texas Tech junior Kennedy Kithuka was the individual champion in 28:31.3, ahead of the Arizona dynamic duo of Stephen Sambu and Lawi Lalang. The first American-born finisher was Maverick Darling in 11th.

Meet management and timing were again horrible. It should be the final time Delta Timing gets an NCAA contract.

Heps’ Results
Women — 2. Abbey D’Agostino (Dartmouth), 19:28.6; 8. Alexi Pappas (Oregon), 19:43.9; 34. Rachel Sorna (Cornell), 20:12.0; 36. Katie Kellner (Cornell), 20:12.8; 88. Greta Feldman (Princeton), 20:42.5; 118. Viviana Hanley (Harvard), 20:53.7; 123. Devin McMahon (Cornell), 20:56.1; 130. Margaret Connelly (Brown), 20:59.8; 140. Emily Shearer (Cornell), 21:03.4; 146. Morgan Kelly (Harvard), 21:04.5; 171. Caroline Kellner (Cornell), 21:16.1; 172. Emily Reese (Harvard), 21:16.3; 182. Katie Rosettie (Cornell), 21:24.0; 183. Genna Hartung (Cornell), 21:24.8; 202. Sammy Silva (Harvard), 21:32.1; 216. Alaina Alvarez (Harvard), 21:38.8; 239. Jen Guidera (Harvard), 21:59.7; 252. Paige Kouba (Harvard), 22:52.7.

Men — 43. Chris Bendtsen (Princeton), 30:07.6; 58. Alejandro Arroyo Yamin (Princeton), 30:24.4; 61. Mark Feigen (Columbia), 30:25.8; 72. Mark Amirault (Virginia), 30:30.4; 74. Jake Sienko (Columbia), 30:30.8; 79. Tyler Udland (Princeton), 30:33.5; 98. Kyle Merber (Texas), 30:42.6; 100. Mike Murphy (Columbia), 30:43.2; 110. Trevor Van Ackeren (Texas), 30:50.9; 125. Dan Lowry (Michigan), 30:56.9; 134. Mike Franklin (Princeton), 31:00.5; 151. Matt McDonald (Princeton), 31:06.7; 157. Leighton Spencer (Columbia), 31:10.3; 160. Eddie Owens (Princeton), 31:12.3; 168. Daniel Everett (Columbia), 31:17.3; 201. Maksim Korolev (Harvard), 31:43.8; 209. Ben Veilleux (Columbia), 31:50.8; 216. Adam Behnke (Indiana), 32:00.5; 222. Nico Composto (Columbia), 32:05.5; 241. Jonathan Vitez (Princeton), 32:50.0.

And the winners of the Heps NCAA XC Challenge are as follows:

Women — Justin Frick & Becky Wexler (168 points each)
Both had the top five runners in the same order

Men — Emily de la Bruyere (377 points)
Had four of top five, but not Feigen. Had Lowry instead

Overall — Justin Frick (564 points)

Comments are closed.