Heps Sweeps Eastern Track Honors

Walt Murphy has been selecting the Eastern Track Athletes of the Year for more than three decades and, for just the second time ever, Heps has swept the college awards as Princeton’s Donn Cabral and Dartmouth’s Abbey D’Agostino — both NCAA champions — were named.

The only other time Heps provided both winners came in 2003 when Penn’s Brian Chaput and Yale’s Kate O’Neill were the picks.

Of the men’s choice, Murphy wrote, “Cabral had a dream season in 2012. He anchored the Tigers to two wins at the Penn Relays, won the steeplechase and 10k at the Heps, broke a 31-year old Eastern Record when he ran 8:19.14 for the steeple in May, then won the NCAA steeple in June. Even though these performances didn’t factor into his choice as Eastern Track’s Male AOY for 2012, Cabral then finished second in the steeple at the U.S. Trials and eighth in the Olympic final in London.”

And of his choice of D’Agostino, he penned, “This was a tough one, but D’Agostino gets the nod for AOY over Georgetown’s Emily Infeld. Infeld was the NCAA Indoor 3k champion and finished second in the 1500m outdoors. She was also fourth at the 2011 NCAA X-Country Championships. D’Agostino was eighth in the NCAA Indoor 3k, but won the 5000 outdoors and moved into the All-Time Eastern top-10 with her 15:23.35 clocking. She also ran down Infeld on the anchor leg (4:35.75) of the Indoor DMR, moving Dartmouth into third place, one position ahead of Georgetown. D’Agostino, who narrowly missed making the U.S. Olympic team in the 5000, becomes the first performer from Dartmouth, male or female, to be named Eastern Track’s Athlete of the Year.”

Previous E.T. Athletes of the Year from the Ivy League have been Harvard’s Meredith Rainey (1990), Harvard’s Dora Gyorffy (2000 & 2001), Princeton’s Tora Harris (2002), Chaput (2003 & 2004), O’Neill (2003) and Columbia’s Caroline Bierbaum (2005).

Walt Murphy’s News & Results Service (wmurphy25@aol.com)
Eastern Track
(c) Copyright 2013 — all rights reserved. May not be reprinted or retransmitted without permission.

Comments are closed.