Harriers Hitting the Books


Time to switch seasons for one blog post, while we catch our breath from this past weekend:


US Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches  Association (USTFCCCA) announced their All-Academic accolades today for both the teams and individuals.   To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have either earned USTFCCCA All-America status or finished in the NCAA region’s top 15 (or top 10 percent) in 2012.  To qualify as a USTFCCCA All-Academic Cross Country Team, the team must have had a cumulative team GPA of 3.00 or better and have started at least five runners at their respective NCAA regional championship.

Dartmouth’s Abbey D’Agostino is bringing home another accolade as she was honored as the Female Scholar Athlete of the 2012 Cross Country Season for Division 1.  D’Agostino, a junior psychology major, has earned a 3.65 cumulative grade point average through the fall semester of 2012 en route to winning the Northeast Regional title and finishing 2nd at the NCAA championships.  D’Agostino is one of 13 Ivy League students and alumni recognized by USTFCCCA in this honor.

Meanwhile, 7 women and 6 men Ivy cross country programs have been honored by USTFCCCA as “All-Academic”: Columbia (men & women), Cornell (men & women), Dartmouth (men & women), Harvard (men & women), Penn (men & women), Princeton (women), and Yale (men & women).

Female All-Academic honorees:

Erin Gllingham (Columbia)
Katie Kellner (Cornell)
Emily Shearer (Cornell)
Abbey D’Agostino (Dartmouth)
Emily de La Bruyere (Princeton)
Alexi Pappas (Oregon via Dartmouth)
Liana Epstein (Yale)

Male All-Academic honorees:

Mike Murphy (Columbia)
Alejandro Arroyo Yamin (Princeton)
Matt Nussbaum (Yale)
Kyle Merber (Texas via Columbia)
Dan Lowry (Michigan via Brown)
Mark Amirault (Virginia via Princeton)

Congrats to all STUDENT-athletes who were recognized by this honor.


Comments are closed.