USTFCCCA 2013 Cross Country National Awards


The USFTCCCA announced their 2013 Division I Cross Country All-Americans, and National Athletes/Coaches of the Year.  These awards were determined based on the results of the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships from last Saturday.

Abbey D’Agostino (Dartmouth) was awarded as the female National Athlete of the Year for winning the NCAA Cross Country individual title on Saturday.  D’Agostino not only capped an undefeated cross country season (winning the Paul Short and Wisconsin Invitationals, Heps XC, and Northeast Regional race), but she is also the first ever Ivy Leaguer to win a national cross country title.  She admitted in post-race interviews that while she was comfortable with being the race favorite, she was more comfortable and confident due to having the rest of the Dartmouth cross country team starting and racing with her.

In addition to D’Agostino, six other Ivy League undergraduates earned All-American honors for placing in the top 40 of their respective races on Saturday.  Harvard’s Maksim Korolev (3rd), Dartmouth’s Will Geoghegan (14th), and Columbia’s Nico Composto (30th) earned the accolades in the men’s race, while Cornell’s Rachel Sorna (14th), Dartmouth’s Dana Giordano (31st), and Princeton’s Megan Curham (34th) joined D’Agostino on the women’s side.  In addition, Harvard graduate Sammy Silva (12th) earned All-American status for New Mexico.

photo courtesy of Track and Field Photo

Comments are closed.