Alumni Kicking off ’14 XC


We kick off the cross country action for the 2014 season with the graduates.  Since our last post, we received some additional names of other HepsNation alumni who are finishing their NCAA eligibility at other schools this year.  Some of them have already started their cross country seasons.

John Schilkowsky (Cornell) helped the Northeastern Huskies win the team title at the Shawn M. Nassaney Memorial 5km Race in Smithfield, R.I. on Saturday.  In his 2014 cross country debut, Schilkowsky finished in a close second place, running a 15:41.3 – holding off Paul Gennaro of Boston University by 0.2 seconds to help Northeastern win the team title.

Peter Callahan might not have run for Princeton during the cross country season, but he competed at the University of New Mexico Cross Country Invitational on Saturday.  Callahan finished 38th overall in 17:09.01 for the 5km – note: he competed as “unattached” so perhaps this was just a training session for him.

Over on the west coast, Kurt Ruegg (Harvard) was the #1 runner for Santa Clara University at the University of San Francisco Invitational back on August 30th.  Ruegg finished 21st in the 8km race with a time of 26:12.9.  Santa Clara finished 4th in the team standings, with California winning the team title.

Also back in August, Tyler Udland (Princeton) led Florida State to three dual wins at the University of Virginia Duals.  Udland finished 6th overall on the 4km course in 12:43, helping the Seminoles best Duke, Norkfolk State, and Liberty but fall to host Virginia in a close 26-29.

The latest graduate/transfer student roster for the 2014-15 athletic seasons is the following (if you know of anyone else who is still competing but is not on this list, email us and let us know):

  • John Bleday – Dartmouth/Boston College (indoor track only)
  • Peter Callahan – Princeton/New Mexico
  • Margaret Connelly – Brown/Iowa State
  • George Galasso – Princeton/Boston College
  • Will Geoghegan – Dartmouth/Oregon (track only)
  • John Gregorek – Columbia/Oregon (track only)
  • Morgan Kelly – Harvard/Virginia
  • Maksim Korolev – Harvard/Stanford
  • Waverly Neer – Columbia/Oregon
  • Emily Reese – Harvard/New Mexico
  • Kurt Ruegg – Harvard/Santa Clara
  • John Schilkowsky – Cornell/Northeastern
  • Sammy Silva – Harvard/New Mexico (track only)
  • Tyler Udland – Princeton/Florida State
  • Jonathon Vitez – Princeton/Notre Dame
  • Alejandro Arroyo Yamin – Princeton/Northern Arizona (track only)

HepsNation undergraduate action begins this weekend – we’ll share what meet information we know of later this week.

photo from Princeton Athletic Communications

Comments are closed.