USTFCCCA XC All-Academic Selections


USTFCCCA released their lists of All-Academic Athletes and Teams for the 2014 NCAA Cross Country season.  All eight Ivy League teams earned All-Academic Team honors, and each school had at least one athlete who was selected for the All-Academic Individual honors.  Teams were selected for All-Academic honors if the cumulative team GPA was above 3.0.   Individual honorees must have compiled a cumulative GPA of at least 3.25 and have finished in the top 15 finishers (or 10 percent) at NCAA Regionals or as an All-American at the national meet.

While the two Harvard teams had the highest GPAs for their respective genders (3.48 for the men, 3.63 for the women), Princeton had the highest number of individual honorees with four (William Bertrand, Matt McDonald, Megan Curham, and Natalie Rathjen).

NCAA cross country champions Edward Cheserek (Oregon) and Kate Avery (Iona) were selected as the Scholar Athletes of the Year, while men’s team runner up Stanford and women’s team champion Michigan State were selected at the Scholar Teams of the Year.

USTFCCCA All-Academic honorees:

  • Brown: men (3.42), women (3.47); Natalie Schudrowitz, Lucy Van Kleunen
  • Columbia: men (3.00), women (3.27); Tait Rutherford
  • Cornell: men (3.16), women (3.30); David Melly, Caroline Kellner
  • Dartmouth: men (3.35), women (3.39); Dana Giordano, Sarah Delozier
  • Harvard: men (3.48), women (3.63); Will Geiken, Thomas Purnell, Molly Renfer
  • Penn: men (3.38), women (3.31); Connor Paez, Cleo Whiting, Clarissa Whiting
  • Princeton: men (3.17), women (3.44); William Bertrand, Matt McDonald, Megan Curham, Natalie Rathjen
  • Yale: men (3.46), women (3.51); Kevin Dooney, Kira Garry

Congrats to all of the student-athletes!

Comments are closed.