Awards All Around


A number of HepsNation members have been honored with various awards these last few days.

Earlier this week, the Ivy League announced the Ivy League Indoor Track & Field Coaches of the Year.  These awards are new to the 2015 season, where the honorees are decided through votes among the eight League coaches.  Princeton’s Fred Samara won the men’s coaching award through a unanimous vote, while Harvard’s Jason Saretsky and Columbia’s Dan Ireland shared the award for the women’s coaches of the year.

USTFCCCA bestows regional athletes and coaches of the year for each track and field/cross country season.  This indoor season, USTFCCCA honored three Harvard affiliates as part of the Northeast Region awards.  Sophomore shot putter Nikki Okwelogu, who will be competing at NCAAs next weekend, was honored with the female athlete of the year for her season and new conference record throw of 56-02 that she set at Indoor Heps last weekend.  Head coach Saretsky was honored as the women’s head coach of the year due to the team winning Indoor Heps for the third year in a row and with the team finishing at the top of the regional rankings.  Assistant coach Kebba Tolbert was honored by USTFCCCA as his sprint corp contributed to 52 of Harvard’s 125 points at Indoor Heps, including three sprints/hurdle titles at the meet.

Some alumni have also been honored by various organizations for their athletic accomplishments.  Last night, the New York Road Runners (NYRR) held their annual club awards night, where they honored the top runners and club teams for the year.  Princeton alumna Sarah Cummings, who races for the New York Athletic Club, was honored with the Fred Lebow Runner of the Year Award, which recognizes the top athletes who had the most consistently superior performances over a variety of races and distances.  In 2014, Cummings qualified In 2013, she was previously honored as the top female runner for her age group (20-24).

Lastly, two nights ago, Penn alumna Aliy Zirkle was formally inducted into the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame due to her current athletic passion – dogsled racing.  We previously announced her induction back in February.

Comments are closed.