From Rubber Tracks to Ice Tracks


It looks like this website can have a stable future during the winter season as former HepsNation athletes are excelling on the Bobsled and Skeleton scene.

Back on June 25th, the USA Bobsled and Skeleton federation honored a total of seven athletes – three of them HepsNation members – with their annual sporting awards.

Jamie Gruebel Poser – 2014 Olympic Bronze medalist in the two-woman bobsled and former Heps champion for Cornell in the multi-events – was given the top honor of Bobsled Athlete of the Year.  Poser (third from right) finished second overall in the World Cup circuit by earning six top 3 finishes in 8 World Cup events, which included two gold medals.  She also finished fifth overall individually and sixth in the team event at the 2016 World Championships.

Nathan Crumpton – a former Princeton sprinter and jumper and an excellent photographer – was honored as the Rookie of the Year as it was his first year as a part of the national team as a skeleton racer.  He competed in the World Cup and Intercontinental Cup circuits, earning a season-best fifth-place finish on the Lake Placid track in World Cup action and took eighth at World Championships.  “I’m honored the coaching staff would select me for the Rookie of the Year award,” Crumpton (second from left) shared during the award ceremony. “The season definitely had its ups and downs, but it ended on a high note at World Championships, and I’m glad the whole team was able to celebrate a successful season at the annual gala.”

Former Brown decathlete Heps champion Evan Weinstock (second from right) also just finished his first year as a national team member as a pusher for the men’s bobsled, and based on his work ethic and success, he was honored with the Most Valuable Performer award.  He was a part of two gold medal winning teams during the North American Cup circuit; one in a four-man sled , a second in a two-man sled.  Weinstock also had the opportunity to compete on the European Cup circuit in both the two-man and four-man sleds. “Receiving this award means a great deal to me and I believe it could have be received by any of my teammates,” Weinstock said during the award ceremony. “To be recognized by this organization for all the work that was put into this season is truly humbling. The rapid progression of Justin [Olsen] as a pilot gave me the opportunity to compete at a high level and uphold the values of the organization.”

Other award winners were Annie O’Shea as the Skeleton Athlete of the Year, Terra Evans as the Women’s Bobsled Athlete’s Choice, Carlos Valdes as the Men’s Bobsled Athlete’s Choice, and Kyle Brown as the Skeleton Athlete’s Choice.

photo from USA Bobsled Skeleton federation

Comments are closed.