Rio 2016: Official Team USA [UPDATED]


The wait is over – Rudy and Conor are going to Rio.

USATF officially announced at 1:30PM ET on Thursday that the IAAF has extended invitations to Rudy Winkler and Conor McCullough to compete at the 2016 Summer Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.  Winkler and McCullough will be joined by 2012 Olympic hammer finalist Kibwe JohnsonWinkler’s and Johnson’s invitations were previously announced on Wednesday through local media outlets and social media, while McCullough was not confirmed until USATF’s press release.

Winkler won the USA Olympic Trials last week with a mark of 76.75m, 25 centimeters shy of the Olympic standard, while McCullough finished third.  McCullough also had not met the Olympic standard prior to the Trials.  However, there aren’t enough athletes around the world who met the hammer standard so the IAAF offered invitations based on the world descending order list.

“I can’t really describe it, especially because I’ve been having the anxiety the past couple of days, waiting for the invite,” Winkler said in the Albany’s Times Union article that announced the invitation. “I’ve been trying to keep cool because there’s nothing I really could have done, but I was checking my email like every 15 minutes the past couple of days because I didn’t know when they were going to do it.”

So now our Ivy count on Team USA is SIX:

  • Donn Cabral (Princeton ’12) – steeplechase
  • Abbey D’Agostino (Dartmouth ’14) – 5,000m
  • Sean Furey (Dartmouth ’04) – javelin throw
  • Kate Grace (Yale ’10) – 800m
  • Conor McCullough (Princeton/USC) – hammer throw
  • Rudy Winkler (Cornell ’17) – hammer throw

Photo by Charlie Riedel

Comments are closed.